Dhritashthira

by Aranyakananda

Events have been unfolding in the lives of people around me. Events that have been doing so for longer than I am comfortable admitting. Because I could have probably done something about it over the years had I been stronger of character and known the right course of action to take.

I was like Dhritarashtra, always saying “It is out of my hands. Fate is playing out.” Well I never said that about fate, but I never felt it was my place to step in while seeing a person mad with power bringing his own kingdom to ruins, shall we say, metaphorically.

I won’t go into too much detail about it because though its greatly affected me, it is not for me to say. It is not my life. And it has gotten to a point that it is out of my hands to do something even if I could. I have to wait in order for what is right to unfold. I am effectively in exile from the situation.

I am effectively Yudhishthira, saying be patient, be vigilant for the right time when this person will no longer have mad power over those he’s held captive for so many years.

It is strange how delay and patience can end up feeling like they were the same thing. Inaction. I waited and waited out of fear and uncertainty. Now I wait and wait out of a sense of duty (dharma) toward another person, trusting that they know what they are doing having finally taken personal action.

Oddly, an elder of mine is Duryodhana in this little drama I am describing so vaguely. And I suppose I am a bit of Arjuna too since I came into this long struggle not wanting to fight with loved ones.

Yato dharmastato jayah
Jai Hari Aum
Aum Shankaranarayanaya Namaha!

This entry was posted in Bhagavad-Gita, dharma, Dharma religions, Eastern Philosophy, family, Gita, Hindu mythology, Hinduism, inspiration, Mahabharata, philosophy, Sanatana Dharma, self help and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dhritashthira

  1. Dhrishti says:

    A tough post, Vasubhai. And surely tough times. I’m very curious about Duryodhana. Any chance you plan to write about this one?

    • treadmarkz says:

      Not necessarily, but I do know that the followup to this post will be another one applying the Mahabharata to the same situation.

Leave a Reply

