A Pilgrimage To Krishna Consciousness, Maybe

by Aranyakananda

My wife and I are flying to California late this summer to visit friends and family. We will be staying in San Francisco, or very near. We have been planning this out for weeks, but it just occurred to me this morning that in San Francisco, the U.S. has one of its highest concentration of Hindu temples. I was really very amused by that fact and I began to research the directory of temples in the “Golden Gate City”. In doing so I noted how many there are that are very specific to a particular god or goddess. Just last week I read a story which pointed out how this is an anomaly in the States. Indeed the temple I attend is very non-denominational, shall we say.

(Could anyone in the Bay Area recommend a good Hindu temple for a guy like me to visit? I have strong leanings toward Narayana, Sri Vaisnavism, but my life has been significantly clarified by devotion to Shankaranarayana. Also I am opening myself up to Shaivism. Oh, and I would love to visit a Self-Realization Fellowship. My “non-denominational” home town temple is the only one I’ve visited. In short, I require a welcoming environment for someone who may seem a new-comer. Also I am in a wheelchair and cannot walk, though I can navigate a step if need be.)

So anyway, I am now really looking forward to paying a visit to some of these temples, and experiencing the very unique atmosphere of a temple totally devoted to one particular deity.

And then another thing struck me. San Francisco is practically the home of Krishna Consciousness in the United States. ISKCon is quite prevalent there, but there are definitely temples that are unaffiliated with ISKCon in “The City By The Bay.”

From there my mind told me “Hey…You will be IN San Francisco ON Krishna Janmashtami, you know?” Anyone familiar with Krishna bhakti at all knows that it can be quite a colorful experience. But ON Janmashtami, IN San Francisco? Wow…

Then I realized that we would actually be leaving town four days before the festival. Oh well. It will be a nice thing to come home to, anyway.

Jai, Jai, Jai
Aum Shanti, Shanti, Shanti!

This entry was posted in American Hindus, bhakti, Bhaktivedanta, Eastern Philosophy, Hare Krishna, Hindu Festivals, Hindu Sects, Hindu Temples, holidays, ISKCON, Krishna, Krishna Consciousness, Narayana, paralysis, religion, Sanatana Dharma, Self-Realization Fellowship, Spina bifida, spirituality, Vaishnavism, Western Hinduism, wheelchair, White Hindus, Yogananda and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Pilgrimage To Krishna Consciousness, Maybe

  1. Ricky says:

    Very jealous of you. Enjoy your trip, bhai! I’m sure it will be fabulous.

  2. Dhrishti says:

    It goes without saying, although I’m saying it now: So long as pics aren’t prohibited, they ARE expected as well as full details of every holy place you visit.

Leave a Reply

