The “I” and the “Me”

by Aranyakananda

Every so often just a sliver of a memory pops into my head and if I think about it long enough it brings something back that is of value. Yesterday I remembered that when I was early in my college career I aspired to write songs. I had a song title that popped into my head but I had absolutely no idea what to do with it. Because I didn’t know what it meant. The song title was “The ‘I’ and the ‘Me'”. I am sure I got the idea from the Beatles song “I Me Mine.” I knew what “Mine” was, but I didn’t understand the difference between “I” and “Me” at the time.

I knew it was going to be this slow bluesy sort of tune with a slinky bass line but not much else. And mind you this was about 10 years before I became a Hindu. Ten years before I knew much of anything about Hinduism. But now, as I write that song title down and place it in front of me, I see a little more clear picture of what it was. I am not much of a musician and the only instruments I have in my possession are a tabla, a xylophone, and a ukelele, all of which I could hypothetically employ on this venture. But I do intend to write at least a poem of this title. A little self-examination exercise if nothing else.

It is about duality. It is my interpretation that one – let’s just say “I” – refers to the ego, and “Me” refers to something more real, more universal. Anyway I am going to take it from there. This really isn’t much of a post, I reckon, other than that it is an announcement of the branching off of this blog into the realm of poetic analysis/investigation. I can say no more, because if I do I might as well just sit here until I’ve written my poem and then post it.

Jai Hari Aum

This entry was posted in American Hindus, auto-biography, autobiography, bhakti, Brahman, creativity, current events, devotional music, dharma, Dharma religions, Dharmic Faiths, Divine Consciousness, dualism, duality, Eastern Philosophy, ego, existentialism, George Harrison, Hinduism, inspiration, jnana yoga, life, lyrics, mantras, Maya, meaning of life, meditation, music, non-dualism, panentheism, pantheism, philosophy, pluralism, poetry, Psychology, religion, science, self help, self-realization, spirituality, Western Hinduism, White Hindus, writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

