A Vaisnavical Curiosity

by Aranyakananda

My wife and I just opened some Christmas packages that we received from family who live far away. One of mine was a pendant of Lord Vishnu with Adishesha overhead. The curious part is that in the Lord’s four hands He holds a discus, a lotus, a conch and a trident. I have never seen a trident associated with Vishnu. To be clear this is not Harihara (Half Vishnu, half Shiva).

The trident is meant to convey “mastery over the three worlds of Heaven, Hell, and the material world” which is all in line with my views on Narayana (Vishnu). But normally the trident would be associated with Shiva only. Certainly this cannot be a bad thing as I prefer to think of them as one anyway. I have long revered Harihara as the All in All. But I wonder what you, readers, can offer on the subject, particularly of the implications involved with a representation of God which appears to have no solid foundation in Hindu scripture, nor in generally accepted forms of Vishnu.

Merry Christmas to all of you who are celebrating.

Jai Sri Shankaranarayana
Aum Sri Brahmaputraya Namaha
Jai Hari Aum

This entry was posted in avatars, Avatars of Vishnu, Christmas, Dharma religions, Dharmic Faiths, Eastern Philosophy, God, Hindu Scriptures, Hindu Sects, Hinduism, holidays, Narayana, religion, Saivism, Sanatana Dharma, Shaivism, Shiva, spirituality, Trimurti, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, Western Hinduism, White Hindus and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Vaisnavical Curiosity

  1. hema k says:

    Dear AA, there are two possiblities, one it might represent a particular temple’s leading diety where there might be a story attatched for the presence of the trident, or it might have been made in China
    where they might not know about the symbolism of the trident, by the way I follow your blog regulary keep posting

  2. treadmarkz says:

    Thanks, Hema K. I am growing evermore convinced it was simply made by an ill-informed smith. Thank you for following this blog. I’ll carry on for your benefit. đŸ˜‰

  3. Dhrishti says:

    I’ve been thinking about this a little since you first brought it up. My best guess matches the possible conclusion you two have come to – that it was made by someone who, for lack of better wording, didn’t know any better.

    However, it also makes me think of Shri Shubh Drishti Ganapati who is virtually entirely unorthodox and even frowned on by some. For me, none of that matters because I, personally, find value in the image / murti. Knowing that you are a vaishnav fond of the Harihara face of God, and seeing that this pendant is “mostly” Vishnu with a touch of Shiva, I think it’s a fine gift and fitting piece for you to wear or worship, or both.

    • treadmarkz says:

      I was thinkng that would be the conclusion you’d draw. And you also bring up a very important point. The difference between wearing and using for worship. Though I’d argue that in the wearing, there lies an element of worship. But yes, not truly a “murti” in the sense that most would see it. Still, yes, I think it is fine as I thought your Drishti Ganapati was just fine.

  4. Pingback: day in city | Sri Vishnu educational group launches solar power plant

Leave a Reply

