Tending To My Crop

by Aranyakananda

Y’ever seen the movie “Field of Dreams”? Remember toward the end when Ray Kinsella finds out that “Shoeless Joe” Jackson plans to take Terrence Mann out into the cornfield, presumably for a glimpse into the “great beyond” or whatever? Ray is upset that he will not get to see it (yet) but Terrence explains to him that he has to stay and tend to the field, take care of his family, etc. That is his purpose.

I was, until very recently, a bit disturbed by a comment by a friend who suggested that he knew the nature of his next death, or rather that he knew one particular mode by which he would NOT be leaving this current body. Glad he knows, but I became increasingly curious/nosy as to exactly how he knew this.

In Hinduism, a certain list of luminous and wondrous physical, mental or spiritual abilities are called “siddhis.”

Though not one of the primary 8 Siddhis, “tri-kāla-jñatvam” according to the Bhagavata Purana is the “knowledge of past, present and future.” I think my friend’s curious knowledge would fit into one segment of this category. Though I am not suggesting my friend has fully omniscient knowledge of the past and the future, he does have a damn good grasp on the present moment, and I do consider my friend to be a jnana yogi of the utmost degree, and even a personal guru of sorts. As such, I would not be a bit taken aback at the knowledge that he’d at least tapped into the realm of tri-kāla-jñatvam as defined above.

But that is not for everyone. Not until one is “ready”. Like Ray Kinsella in “Field of Dreams” who wanted to see what was “out there” in the cornfield, I recently told my friend that the reason I’d like to know how he knows that he will NOT perish in a particular way, is that it would be a fascinating glimpse behind a curtain which I have heretofore not gained access, spiritually speaking. Something like that.

I just wanted to see it.
I just wanted to know.
Desire and Ego.

But I quickly realized that was a somewhat misguided desire. Why should I ask him to grant me such a boon? Is it his to give if I have not earned it? Even if he were a satguru who can grant his “students” such experience as many are said to have been, I don’t think such things are granted merely because the student “wants to see it.” Some of us need to stay where we are, tend to our corn.

For now, I’ll be content in his contentment.

Jai Hari Aum.

This entry was posted in afterlife, American Hindus, Brahman, current events, death, determinism, dharma, Dharma religions, Dharmic Faiths, Divine Consciousness, Eastern Philosophy, editorial, ego, film, guru, Heaven, Hindu Scriptures, Hinduism, jnana yoga, karma, life, meaning of life, movie quotes, movie review, movies, philosophy, Puranas, quotes, reincarnation, religion, self-realization, siddhis, spirituality, White Hindus and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tending To My Crop

  1. Mahalaya says:

    One of my all time favorite movies. Has a lot of wonderful truth inside of it.

  2. Dhrishti says:

    I’ve never seen this movie. I’m rather allergic to any movie with a significant sports current. Still, seems interesting.

    Also interesting, and quite sweet, is this post. Your friend might be a smidge odd. I’d be curious to learn more about these 8 (maha)siddhis. Seems like good material for RWV. I could see that “siddhis” of various flavors could be broadly categorized (perhaps 8 groupings?), but would imagine individual karmas would play into the exact expression of those on a smaller scale.

    • treadmarkz says:

      Its not too much about sports. Its more about relationships and figuring out how to “let go” and sure it has a heavy element of nostalgia which is a bit sappy but still one of my favorite movies of all time. WAY better movie than The Catcher in the Rye was a book, I promise you. But I know how you feel about taking recommendations from people on things like this. Oh and yes my friend is very odd.

Leave a Reply

