Dharma Dream

by Aranyakananda

I fall asleep during movies a lot. Even when I’ve just slept until 11am, and it is only mid-afternoon the same day. Recently I was sitting at home one Sunday afternoon watching a movie. We’d just had a fairly fruitful conversation regarding the Mahabharata and eventually zoning in on the Bhagavad-Gita, which my wife has never read too in-depth, but has heard enough about it from me. The span of this conversation covered Kamsa to Arjuna.

After that, the movie we watched failed to capture my imagination. I fell asleep. I dreamed I was reading the Bhagavad-Gita. A verse flowed through my head which I don’t believe is actually in any translation of the Gita that I’ve read, but it is completely relevant to and completely consistent with the Gita.

“Brahman is the respiration of the world.”

All living things come into the world, and all living things leave the world. At least that is the way most people see death. Leaving. Going away. Disappearing. And end to something. But as this dream voice has confirmed, death is but Brahman taking a breath in. It is more of an arrival. A coming, not going. Not a beginning, but certainly not an ending.

Tat Tvam Asi.

This entry was posted in Aum, avatars, Avatars of Vishnu, Bhagavad-Gita, Brahman, Dharmic Faiths, dualism, duality, Eastern Philosophy, ego, famous quotes, Gita, God, Hinduism, inspiration, Krishna, Mahabharata, mantras, meaning of life, panentheism, pantheism, philosophy, quotes, religion, Sanatana Dharma, self-realization, Smartism, social commentary, spirituality, Vedanta, Vedas, Western Hinduism, White Hindus and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dharma Dream

  1. Pingback: Pleasure and Power | Anacephalaeosis

Leave a Reply

