Just One More About Plants, I Promise.

by Aranyakananda

As you may know, I recently developed a bit of a passion for filling my cubicle at work with living things, i.e. green plants and more recently flowers. A co-worker cut off branches of a lilac bush and put pots of them in several places in the office, including my cube, because he knows I’d been interested in sprucing up my workspace.

Over the weekend, though I filled its vase with fresh water on Friday evening, by the time I came back this morning for work, the plant was wilted and emitting no flowery scent.

One of the things that I loved about the plant was that as it was not in soil, just sitting in a pot of water, I could actually observe it throughout the day “drinking” the water. I could also see, that now that it was wilted and unscented, that it was also no longer consuming the water.

This called to mind a book I recently attempted to read about the process of death – yes it is indeed a process, not an event – and how after one appeared to be dead, certain physiological functions continued. Much like this plant which was really no more than a branch cut off from it’s tree and therefore its roots in the ground. I specify roots “in the ground” because the funny thing is that we – and all living things including the plants – feel least firmly rooted in our true root, Brahman, when we are alive and experiencing Maya.

Just an observation.

Mainly though, I found this branch’s short vase-life to be enlightening just to see for my self with my own eyes how very much like us even plants are. They consume, they stay alive. When they are dead, they no longer do so. I know, seems obvious, but to see it actually happening and then not happening is something (or not something).

Jai Hari Aum

This entry was posted in Aum, Avatars of Vishnu, Ayurveda, Brahman, current events, death, Eastern Philosophy, editorial, existentialism, God, Hinduism, life, religion, science, spirituality, transmigration, Vishnu, Western Hinduism, White Hindus and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Just One More About Plants, I Promise.

  1. Dhrishti says:

    Vasu, aside from hinting that “consumption” ceases, you haven’t mentioned what else you have learned about the process of death.

    • treadmarkz says:

      Aside from “consumption” of water, I think that the disappearance of the scent that it once emitted also is a nod toward the fact that this plant had also stopped “breathing”. I was meditating on this whole thing, and somehow the idea that “we are just as much in death now as we are” during what I described in this post kept running through my head. I think that it is just maya and attachment to the body that makes “death” so much more noticeable to us at the time our bodies are being ripped away from us.

  2. Mahalaya says:

    I like your posts about plants. I think, very often, how a person treats plants is far more insightful than how they treat humans and animals. It’s easy to love and treat things kindly when you gush over their “noble eyes” or their selfless giving of a food product or their undying loyalty and friendship…but when you care for a plant…it can’t do really anything for you at all. No one will know you even watered it, if you do. My Jade is like this…never flowers and will literally die if the wind blows the wrong way. But, i salvaged that plant from a second hand store clearance rack. I paid 25 cents for it and have had it over 7 years.

    I salvaged cut mint, it now grows fabulously…some over two feet high…in my garden. My oldest plant, is a sleeping beauty plant my mother got from her first grade teacher. In around 1953.

    So please, post as much as you like about what you find important, even if it’s 15 posts about these silent, and often ageless companions.

Leave a Reply

