Multi-Tasking Media Murtis

by Aranyakananda

You know what really grinds my gears?

Has anyone noticed the sharp increase in advertisements in magazines and online wherein multi-tasking is illustrated by a human form with multiple arms each holding a different object? Does it look familiar in any way? To the practicing Hindus or cultural Indians in my “audience”, are you taken aback by these images when you see them? When I first started seeing it pop up here and there I thought it was semi-cute in some small way, but something felt weird about it. Now I have to fight with myself to not cringe every time I see it.

It just bugs me. Lord Krishna tells me to fight aversion (which itself is a contradiction if you think about it too hard – like saying you hate hate) but I can’t help it. I am displeased by images parodying the Murtis of Sanatana Dharma. I mean it is merely a feeling of distaste. It is not like how an image of the Prophet Muhammad being displayed distastefully can spark angry protests and violence. For that to happen in response to any “parody” is awful. But as a Hindu I would be particularly dismayed if it were to happen in response to a parody of Murtis.

I want to take the time here to recognize that Muhammad was a Prophet, not deity. But I am sure you see the parallels.

Granted, I have never seen an ad which truly was distasteful in its “parody” of a Hindu murti. But it is parody nonetheless. It just bugs me. That is all.

Thank you for your time.

Jai Hari Aum.

This entry was posted in American Hindus, avatars, Avatars of Vishnu, Brahma, Comparitive Religion, creativity, current events, dharma, Dharmic Faiths, dualism, duality, Eastern Philosophy, editorial, faith, Ganesh, Ganesha, God, Hanuman, Hinduism, India, Indian culture, inspiration, Ishvara, Islam, Kali, Krishna, Lakshmi, Lord Hanuman, Lord Rama, Muslim, Narayana, opinion, Rama, religion, Sanatana Dharma, Saraswati, Shaivism, Shakti, Shaktism, Shiva, social commentary, spirituality, Trimurti, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, Western Hinduism, White Hindus and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Multi-Tasking Media Murtis

  1. Dhrishti says:

    I feel mixed on this… mostly my opinion is influenced by the details of the portrayal. If a multi-armed “person” is shown doing many things at once simply to illustrate multi-tasking, I’m cool with it – so long as the arms aren’t doing things that are “bad.” I realize this makes me more than a little wishy-washy with it all.

    However, recently it was brought to my attention that MC Yogi is planning some CD cover or something with a pretty punked-out Ganesha on the front … a Ganesha who’s smoking among other such worldly activities. This I take offense to, and not just because it’s Ganesha. I think a year or two ago there was a big fuss about Lakshmi being on a bikini bottom. Same difference. It’s a no-no.

Leave a Reply

