Teleyoga

by Aranyakananda

I spoke on the phone one night last week with a guy who I’ve been friends with for about 17 years. We talked for well over two hours. He is my longest-lasting friendship. We are very different and yet we share so many common experiences. He and I are both in wheelchairs and as such we share many similar experiences. We both have very few other friends in wheelchairs. Speaking for myself, I have one other. You dig? Okay. So we are very different. He is, quite literally I think, a genius, and I am…well read, I guess. So we do alright as friends. But a lot of times I feel like his skill at conversation well exceeds mine, and his ability to dissect an issue, extracting its key element and holding it up for further inspection…well I hold this ability in him in high regard.

During this conversation, he was, let’s say, at odds with himself about a few things. I think he just called to talk things through, and I was his sounding board. An amazing thing happened though. I actually followed what he was saying! That sounds like a funny thing to say about someone you’ve been friends with for so long, but really. The matter at hand was so complex at times it baffled me, but others, I stopped him, and I attempted to reiterate a point he made, putting it in my own words to be sure I understood, and he said that I had hit it directly on the head. And I think he was grateful. It is frustrating trying to explain something that is so hard to put into words, and not having any indication that you are understood.

Anyway this reminded me of something another friend said about how a good long meaningful conversation with a friend can make a perfectly suitable substitution for your traditional sadhana or your nightly meditation. It’s true. Why? Again, because life is yoga.

Not only this, but I am finding that many times lately, my intuition seems to be working at full strength. I am able to read various situations lately that would have gone over my head in the past. I feel like stand-up comic Nick Swardson said he felt when he stopped smoking marijuana and when I remembered where his keys were in the morning he thought he was psychic.

Please understand I am not bragging. I feel like since I got out of my full-length leg cast back in March, I have gradually begun to focus my mind more meditatively. For one thing I am back to attending Bhagavad-Gita discussion a bit more regularly. I am committing myself to sadhana at certain times of day, re-bhaktizing myself as it were, but yet making a commitment to many projects which have a considerable dharma element to them. I am only beginning to experience the joy of karma yoga. And all of these things, I feel have lifted the veil, cleared the dull, blurry clouds which began to creep in during my convalescence.

Jai Hari Aum.

This entry was posted in American Hindus, Bhagavad-Gita, bhakti, creativity, current events, dharma, Dharmic Faiths, disabilities, Eastern Philosophy, editorial, Gita, God, gratitude, healing, Hinduism, inspiration, karma yoga, life, meditation, neurology, opinion, philosophy, religion, Sanatana Dharma, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, Western Hinduism, wheelchair, White Hindus, work, yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teleyoga

  1. Dhrishti says:

    “I feel like stand-up comic Nick Swardson said he felt when he stopped smoking marijuana and when I remembered where his keys were in the morning he thought he was psychic. ” – A very interesting comparison, Vasu.

    Queston: Why/How did you cast have an effect on your meditation/sadhana (aside from Gita Study attendance)?

    “I am committing myself to sadhana at certain times of day…” – Very nice

    • treadmarkz says:

      There was a general disarray in my routine, but as Ive said before It did not take away my inner calm.

Leave a Reply

