Sthaanunivassthan

by Aranyakananda

Some time ago a co-worker and I were comparing horror stories about our respective living arrangements. He seemed much more depressed about his “situation” than I. Maybe it is because I am moving soon. At any rate, you know how the British sometimes pretentiously name their homesteads? He and I made a pact that we’d both go home that day and individually kick around a few ideas on what to name our own respective abodes.

My wife and I are moving after 8 years – we were just approved today actually – and I hope this will be a fresh start in many ways. So I’d like to start off our time in our new home with a new outlook, a new way of approaching every-day existence.

Going back to the little game my friend and I had going, I thought I could come up with one of those names that sounds pretentious as hell. But I don’t really want to. What I did come up with probably sounds about as pretentious as possible. But I assure you it is not.

I plan to call our homestead Sthaanunivassthan – the “Abode of the Eternal Truth.”

“Sthaanuh” being one of the epithets for Vishnu, one of His 1,000 names, or Sahasranama, I thought this appropriate seeing as we are moving in across the street from the temple. Plus I like it that it sort of ends the same as it begins. It provides a sense of the eternal in its very spelling.

Jai Sthaanuh Namah!

This entry was posted in American Hindus, auto-biography, autobiography, avatars, Avatars of Vishnu, Brahman, current events, dharma, Dharmic Faiths, Eastern Philosophy, family, God, Hindu Scriptures, Hindu Sects, Hinduism, inspiration, life, marriage, meaning of life, Narayana, philosophy, Sanatana Dharma, spirituality, Trimurti, Uncategorized, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, Western Hinduism, White Hindus and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

