Mandir 2.0

by Aranyakananda

By the end of July, my wife and I intend to be moved to a new apartment. The one we decided on is one that we looked at a few years ago. Intriguingly it happens to sit directly across the street from the Hindu temple that I now attend. Not kidding. Directly across the street. When we move I am going to be able to attend so many more festivals, pujas, discussions, forums, etc., just out of the mere convenience of location, and not having to worry about transportation or burdening my wife to get me there.

I do not drive but that is another story.

I am very much looking forward to this move. And speaking of my wife, firstly, she has been a big advocate of our moving to this apartment not only because it is a great place, but I think somewhere in her wonderful heart she knows that my visits to the temple are like immersing myself in replenishing waters, as it were. It often literally feels that way.

Secondly, even though our move is almost 2 months away, being the self-recognized procrastinators that we both are, we have already begun planning what items we will be “renouncing” to make the move easier, what items we will be re-obtaining when we get settled in, and where we will be positioning in the new place the items we will be taking. One of those “items” up for discussion this evening was my home mandir. It takes up about 2 x 3 ft. but it is also gradually climbing the wall as I add imagery for the sake of lovelification of the space. Tonight my wife very kindly, thoughtfully, asked me questions about where I would like to have it, if I would consider setting up shop a bit differently with a smaller set up or even on a table if that would be more convenient. She asked me if it “has to be” a certain way. I liked that, and explained that no, it doesn’t have to be anything. There are no scriptures to my knowledge that describe what your home mandir must look like, or of what it must consist.

My Vaisnav relics, as I affectionately refer to them, now sit upon a bed-side table with an alcove underneath. Though I enjoy the space as it is, Mandir 2.0 is going to be placed in our spare bedroom which is going to kind of be a rec-room of sorts with many functions. Unfortunately with very limited space my mandir has always been in the corner of our actual bedroom. Though this has added a spiritual element to our abode, I want to change that. Unfortunately (again) the spare room is already filling up before we even have it, but I still intend to find a peaceful corner for my space to reside. It will not reside amongst chaos, I assure you. I am completely open to making it smaller though, paring down the cacophony of imagery that is now my mandir. It has grown steadily in complexity, but it needn’t be so.

Mandir 2.0 will likely feature a painting of Lord Ganesha given to me by a friend residing over all, Narayana, Venkateshwara, Kalki and a small murti of Krishna which I rescued from a second-hand shop of all places. Other than that, Suryadev and Hanuman, and my two gurujis, Sri Paramahansa Yogananda and Sri Swami Vidyadhishananda shall always have a home in my home. And I have significant love for Maa Saraswati, so…..

“That is less complicated than the 1.0 version?”, I hear you inquiring. Yes. Well, slightly. It will need to be worked out. I’ll have to meditate upon it.

Jai Hari Aum!

This entry was posted in American Hindus, avatars, Avatars of Vishnu, bhakti, dharma, Dharmic Faiths, Eastern Philosophy, Ganesh, Ganesha, God, guru, Hanuman, Hindu Scriptures, Hindu Sects, Hinduism, inspiration, Ishvara, Kalki Avatar, Krishna, Lakshmi, Lord Hanuman, love, marriage, meditation, Narayana, Paramahansa Yogananda, poojas, prayer, pujas, religion, Sanatana Dharma, spirituality, Swami V, Swami Vidyadhishananda, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, Western Hinduism, White Hindus, yoga, Yogananda and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mandir 2.0

  1. Dhrishti says:

    “Mandir 2.0 will likely feature a painting of Lord Ganesha given to me by a friend residing over all, Narayana, Venkateshwara, Kalki and a small murti of Krishna which I rescued from a second-hand shop of all places. Other than that, Suryadev and Hanuman, and my two gurujis, Sri Paramahansa Yogananda and Sri Swami Vidyadhishananda shall always have a home in my home. And I have significant love for Maa Saraswati, so…” – Vasu, your pujasthana is SO more diverse and built-up than mine! You might call yourself a Vaishnav, but you’re a Smrta! 🙂

    I agree with you that there are no hard/fast rules on home mandirs – I’ve seen expensive “doll house” mandirs and simple kitchen shelf mandirs, and everything in between. Like you, mine is also in the spare bedroom, but unlike you I’m bossy and insistent enough to have obtained the room almost solely for worship purposes (the closet is used for miscellany).

    If I understand you correctly, I think it’s very sweet that having your mandir in your bedroom has added a spiritual component to … things. I couldn’t do it. I’m far too much a heathen in that arena and Ganesha would either laugh his holy butt off or be terribly fearful of me. 🙂

    • treadmarkz says:

      I was just thinking today that I am not just a Vaisnav but a Smarta. I am also a Shakta, if that helps. lol 🙂 As for your last statement about the bedroom…I dont even know what to say lol

  2. Dhrishti says:

    After reading your stuff for a while, and now knowing more about your home mandir design, if someone were to ask me about you I’d describe you as Smrta with vaishnav leanings. Smrta is pretty much all-inclusive anyway, so even if you identified as mostly Vaishnav if you make room in your heart for the others you can still technically be Smrta. It’s good that you’re also a Shakta.

Leave a Reply

