“Now Go Further”

by Aranyakananda

Without at all being mindful that Navratri was imminent, I recently checked out a book on Swami Ramakrishna Paramahamsa, the guru of Swami Vivekananda. Ramakrishna, the “God-Intoxicated” devotee of the Divine Mother Kali implored his students “You are experiencing a drop of divine bliss, but now go further.”

I recently had a conversation with a friend in which I expressed my hope to be ever more certain about where my path of Sanatana Dharma was taking me, or rather the direction I was taking and why I was taking that particular path. He assured me this clarity and certainty of purpose was something that all aspirants should hope for.

For a second it felt like doubt/confusion. But I think it was just a burning sensation that there was so much more to understand, clearly.

I think that feeling is what has caused me to embark on a current project I have involved myself in on this blog, which I am calling Vaisnavaganza, a way for me to explore my chosen Isha-devata from as many angles as possible. To believe is one thing, but to understand, and to know is the most effective way to destroy ignorance.

Fittingly, the opening three nights of Navratri are devoted to Durga, who destroys our ignorance.

This entry was posted in American Hindus, blogging, dharma, Dharmic Faiths, Durga, Eastern Philosophy, famous quotes, guru, Hindu Festivals, Hindu Sects, Hinduism, holidays, jnana yoga, Kali, meaning of life, meditation, Navratri, News, philosophy, pluralism, quotes, Ramakrishna, religion, Sanatana Dharma, self-realization, Shakti, Shaktism, spirituality, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, Western Hinduism, White Hindus and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Now Go Further”

  1. Dhrishti says:

    “For a second it felt like doubt/confusion. But I think it was just a burning sensation that there was so much more to understand, clearly.” – Vasu, you are certainly my bhai.

    “To believe is one thing, but to understand, and to know is the most effective way to destroy ignorance.” – ji haan!

    Also, Durga Mata is super sweet.

Leave a Reply

