Green Tea Cubicle Puja

by Aranyakananda

My practice of what I call pujas, at home, is very limited. Even more so since I broke my leg and my range of motion in my devotional space has been stunted. But I do what I can. At work on my breaks, or before my start time when I am often the only one in the building, I try to conduct devotional pastimes. There, my ability to perform anything resembling a proper puja is even more limited for obvious reasons.

Today as I sat at my station, performing pre-shift japa, I had a notion. I had prepared myself a cup of green tea which I sipped to warm up before I began japa. I said my mantra 108 times as I rolled my fingers over the beads, but as I said my final “Aum” I felt like something was missing. I know, I just said “Aum” and something was missing? How can anything be missing with “Aum” and several of the myriad Names of God still vibrating in my immediate environ? A sacrifice of some sort was due. A prasad. But I had nothing.

But I did have my green tea. It could have been my prasad all along but I had not considered it as such before beginning japa and I had been drinking it carelessly, as I said “to warm up.” So it was not prasad, as far as I was concerned. Not yet.

So I dabbed my fingertips into my cup and began to sprinkle it over my beads as I did an abbreviated japa, once again.

So you see, it can be that simple. Just as with many things in life, it is the thought that counts. The thought, the effort, the follow-through, and in my case in this moment, the bhakti.

Jai Hari Aum!

This entry was posted in American Hindus, Aum, auto-biography, autobiography, bhakti, creativity, current events, dharma, Dharmic Faiths, disabilities, Eastern Philosophy, faith, God, Hare Krishna, Hinduism, inspiration, japa, Krishna, Lord Rama, mala, mantras, meditation, Narayana, non-dualism, philosophy, pluralism, poojas, pujas, religion, Sanatana Dharma, self help, spirituality, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, Western Hinduism, wheelchair, White Hindus, yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Green Tea Cubicle Puja

  1. Wow your post got me to thinking about a conversation I was just having with my daughter on the phone. We were talking about spiritual practice. She was telling me how she needs to start back to church. I shared with her my own feelings about this subject. A spiritual teacher that I follow, a Tantrika in the Kashmiri Shaivism tradition gave a wonderful satsang on how everything in life is a spiritual practice, from doing dishes to sitting in meditation. We tend to forget that all we do is devotion to God, to your true Self. The key is remembering. Being present in every moment, even me typing this out. Funny how you posted this, when my heart is open I see the synchronicity in many things. Nothing is coincidental. You were listening to your Higher Self and you used something mundane as a spiritual ritual. That is so very beautiful! Everything is simple, we complicate it.

    • treadmarkz says:

      Very nicely put, Jennifer. Thank you. And I realize that taking the time to conduct this japa session on my own was an agreeable enough sacrifice. But I did feel more of a connection to the Divine as I sprinkled the tea.

  2. Dhrishti says:

    I love me some workplace puja, bhai.

    • treadmarkz says:

      I know you do. You’ve truly inspired my understanding that puja is not just for first thing in the morning and last thing at night.

Leave a Reply

