Protection

by Aranyakananda

Since the staircase tumble which I described in the last post took place in Winnipeg, now that I am home I went to get further x-rays today and another doctor’s opinion on the prognosis. I am happy to say that all is well, and everything is still intact.

But it is better than that.

You see, the lower leg (which, according to the x-ray which I finally decided to look at today, I smashed up pretty thoroughly by the way) is made up of two main bones, the tibia and the fibula. The tibia is the larger of the two, and it was this that I cracked diagonally in one spot, and shattered it wickedly elsewhere.

The fibula on the other hand, is a much smaller yet surprisingly robust structure which resides on the outer side of the lower leg. It appears that at some point when I was younger (I’ve broken my legs a few times before) I may have had a small crack in the fibula. But the odd thing is it looks as though, if my wife and I heard my doctor correctly, that some extra callus may have developed as that break healed, which reinforced the right fibula for me, seemingly fusing it to the now-shattered tibia. Had this callus not developed, it sounds like this break would have been much worse.

And therefore, it is my proclamation at this time that the earlier bone break served the purpose of protecting me from the extra potential damage of the present break. The Divine Protection of Vishnu was there in my broken leg some 17 years ago!

You may be thinking “Yes but what about that first break? No callus protecting you then, was there?” My answer to that is when I was a teen, yeah I missed some school and some socializing. But I got my schoolwork brought home. And I never was too social in school anyway. It was nice to get away for awhile. But the present break had potential to be devastating were it to keep me from going to work and earning a living. I had it easy when I was a kid. I’m an adult now. I don’t have time for broken bones!

PS: I was just informed today that I’ll need to get the leg re-cast in a month. Which is great, because then I can get it re-cast in a bent-at-the-knee position so that I can more easily enter my local Temple. Huge smile.

            Oṃ bhūr bhuvaḥ svaḥ

             tát savitúr váreṇyaṃ

bhárgo devásya dhīmahi
dhíyo yó naḥ pracodáyāt
ॐ_भूर्भुवः॒स्वः_
तत्स॑वितुर्वरे॑ण्यं_।
भ॒र्गो॑_दे॒वस्य॑_धीमहि।_।
धियो॒_यो_नः॑_प्रचो॒दया॑त्॥_।
“Let us meditate on the divine light that represents God, and may our thoughts be inspired by that divine light”
This entry was posted in American Hindus, auto-biography, autobiography, avatars, Avatars of Vishnu, Bharat War, biography, current events, Dharmic Faiths, disabilities, Divine Consciousness, duality, editorial, faith, God, gratitude, healing, Hinduism, inspiration, Ishvara, Krishna, Krishna Consciousness, Lakshmi, life, mantras, meditation, monotheism, News, opinion, paralysis, philosophy, religion, Sanatana Dharma, Spina bifida, spirituality, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, Western Hinduism, wheelchair, White Hindus, work and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Protection

  1. Dhrishti says:

    I love the Savitri Gayatri mantra. Nearly every morning as part of the sadhanas that begin my day, I face the east (preferably in the actual first rays of the sun then, weather permitting) and recite this and a few other prayers. Few Hindu prayers have produced the interesting, and near immediate effects, that this one consistently does for me.

    Also, on the note of protection… I have a REALLY long recording of some very non-rushed chanting of The Gayatri. It begins with a man explaining something along the lines of, “Gayantam-tayatri sa gayatri,” which apparently translates as something like, “Those who chant/protect The Gayatri, are protected by The Gayatri.”

Leave a Reply

