Regarding Sandy Hook Elementary School: We Are All Victims of the Insanity Which is Not the True Self.

by Aranyakananda

It has grown wearisome watching responses to news stories online, or Facebook postings on the subject of the Sandy Hook school shooting. Terrible thing to say, I know, because these postings have been an outpouring of love and grief for the lost. But the thing is they usually read something like this:

“My prayers go out to the victims and their families and the police responding to the shootings.” Something like that.

Whenever something like this happens, postings just like this inevitably pop up everywhere. And I can not possibly respond to all of them to point out what is missing. I make no apologies for saying that if one prays for the killer’s victims, then one must pray for the shooter too. Because he is indeed a victim of the very same insanity which killed the others. He was a victim of the very same darkness. Because for him to commit these crimes, then take his own life, his True Self had to have been hijacked by something not-of his True Self. Something separate.

Because the finger that pulls the trigger is not the self, and the mind which tells the body to do the deed is not the self. Therefore the killer, being every bit as human as the other departed, was also a victim. I know that is hard to swallow. But I maintain it is true. He is dead along with those he killed, so there is no “one” to blame. The “blame” goes solely on the mental darkness which plagues us all. We have to recognize it before we can uproot it and burn it away as chaff leaving only the seed of the True Self.

This article in “16 Rounds to Samadhi” explains very well what it is that I am talking about.

I could go on and on. I just wanted to put out a little nugget of “something-to-think-about.” I don’t want to get political. I don’t want to talk about gun control. And I don’t want to preach. I just wanted to say what I know to be true. And I have done it.

Aum, Shanti.

This entry was posted in agnosticism, agnostics, Aum, crime, current events, dharma, Divine Consciousness, drugs, editorial, Facebook, forgiveness, Hinduism, History, inspiration, Liberal, Maya, meaning of life, News, opinion, Psychology, religion, Sanatana Dharma, science, self help, self-realization, social commentary, spirituality, suicide, The Devil, Uncategorized, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, Western Hinduism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

