Um…ॐ…

by Aranyakananda

Upon starting my current day-job back in August, just getting comfortable with the phone calls I was making, I found myself with “a case of the ums” as my supervisor put it. I said “Um” a lot. Eventually I got better. But recently, for some unknowable reason, the ums have returned.

I spoke with my wife about this, and she said that over all I do tend to say it a lot . She tried to reassure me by telling me that it just meant that I was a thinking person. I know, good try eh? I admit that I particularly notice this when I am at my Temple’s Bhagavad-Gita discussion group. Probably a little bit of insecurity with my grasp of the material.
So my wife and I discussed this, and she suggested a technique wherein any time you feel an “um” coming on, you just replace it with silent. Maybe say “um” in your head if you need to. I was familiar with this technique and said I’d try it. But maybe I appeared unconvinced. So in a moment of inspiration, I am sure, she suggested to me “Why don’t you say ‘Aum’ in your head instead of ‘um’ out loud?”

Surprisingly I had never thought of that. I thought it was brilliant. Replace a word which means literally nothing with a word which means literally everything!

Try it yourself! I tried it a bit today. If nothing else it gave me a smile.

This entry was posted in Aum, auto-biography, autobiography, Avatars of Vishnu, Bhagavad-Gita, biography, creativity, current events, dharma, Dharmic Faiths, faith, family, Gita, Hinduism, humor, inspiration, life, mantras, marriage, meditation, opinion, public speaking, religion, Sanatana Dharma, satsang, self help, spirituality, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, Western Hinduism, yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Um…ॐ…

  1. Dhrishti says:

    I, off and on, find myself with the Ums too. Your wife’s first suggestion, involving silence is what works for me.

    Cute post!

Leave a Reply

