Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare Hare/Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare

by Aranyakananda

It is said that one can brighten up one’s immediate environment by reciting the Mahamantra, or the Hare Krishna Mantra. I have been trying to do 108 repetitions each day and each night on mala beads, and I have to say I felt a palpable sense of positivity throughout my day today. Now whether this is actually manifesting positivity around me or just creating a sense of positivity within me alone is up for debate. It goes back to that whole thing, change yourself before you try to change others. But if we are all drops in the Ocean of Brahman, these are one and the same anyway. So if you are creating positivity in your world by creating the feeling in yourself first, so be it.

But that is not what I am here to talk about.

I want to write about the mantra itself. Hare Rama, and Hare Krishna. These are not magic words, so to speak. But they do have meaning which can transform the reciter, if kept in the center of one’s heart when reciting.

“Krishna” is the “all attractive” and “Rama” is the “reservoir of all pleasures.”

There is an entire chapter in the Srimad Bhagavatam about the boy Krishna’s relationship with the gopis, the cow-herder girls. It is supposed to be a good chapter for anyone dealing with lust or sexual addiction. But really it can be applied to any situation where you have let your mind take control of your habits. It is easy to see lust in this chapter when read superficially. But it is really about how Krishna is attractive to all above all other worldly attractions. When focusing on the mantra “Hare Krishna” and it’s true meaning, one can keep the mind from telling you what it wants.

This can be particularly effective if done while keeping one’s attention on the point between the eyebrows, and above, the mind and crown chakras. This in turn keeps ones desires of the highest kind.

These words have helped me refocus my attention on my job and redouble my efforts to kick a caffeine addiction. It has recently been brought to my attention that some of my habits and routines at work have slowed me down greatly. I feel like focusing my mind with the use of the Mahamantra particularly today, has allowed me, once I am on the clock, to keep my mind in that head space.

Yoga has not failed me. I have slipped in my dedication to the principles of yoga and all of its gifts. I think that my rediscovery of japa and the harsh truth that I have been slipping at work lately, coming at the same time, is nothing short of synchronicity.

This entry was posted in avatars, Avatars of Vishnu, Bhaktivedanta, books, chakras, current events, dharma, Dharmic Faiths, Divine Consciousness, editorial, faith, Gita, God, Hare Krishna, healing, Hinduism, inspiration, ISKCON, Krishna, Krishna Consciousness, life, Lord Rama, Mahabharata, Mahamantra, mantras, meditation, opinion, philosophy, Prabhupada, Psychology, Radha, Rama, Ramayana, religion, Sanatana Dharma, self help, self-realization, Shakti, Vaishnavism, Vishnu and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hare Krishna, Hare Krishna, Krishna Krishna, Hare Hare/Hare Rama, Hare Rama, Rama Rama, Hare Hare

  1. I so understand. I find a marked difference in myself when I slip in my japa practice. Thank you for reminding me how much I need to recommit myself:)

  2. Dhrishti says:

    I also can attest to the efficacy of japa. It’s one of my favorite components of the Faith.

  3. Bhismah says:

    Off topic comment just FYI Advanced Vedic TimeTravel more advanced then today we have as per Vishnu purana..Units which move beyond nano seconds…Awesome https://docs.google.com/file/d/0By_CNDc4LXEmX09STTlSSzdYdW8/edit?pli=1

  4. pooja says:

    if you guys , have heard about ‘Beej’ mantra, e
    very human on earth has its own bij mantra……which can be given by one’s own master , and japa of any mantra can be more fruitful when done after pranayam and mediation.

  5. Who Am I? says:

    Nice post. Just want to say one thing. The Mahamantra IS magical. Lord Chaitanya said Krishna and His name are nondifferent because Krishna is Absolute. Chaitanya mahaprabhu has also said that whenever a devotee chants the mahamantra with devotion, He will dance on the devotee’s tongue.

    Hare Krishna

    • treadmarkz says:

      Thank you “WhoAmI?”, for pointing out the power of the mahamantra. I guess I shy away from the word “magic” maybe because of some connotations of the word in the West, but the mahamantra certainly has a strength beyond words.

Leave a Reply

