A Little Slice of Life Inside My Household During Diwali

by Aranyakananda

Me (to my wife): “I want you to know, dear – and you can look this up, it is a verifiable fact – that today is the second day of Diwali  and part of the tradition on the second day involves wives massaging the backs of their husbands so that they can be relaxed and ready to celebrate the holiday…I just wanted to let you know that.”

My wife: “Do you want a back massage?”

Me: “It’s not so much a matter of want, but it’s come down through the ages as such. So…you have to.”

My wife: “You became a Hindu just for that reason didn’t you?”

Me: “Yeah, right, like that was the only way I knew I could ever get you to give me a back massage, and once a year at that.”

My wife: “Yeah, well, good thing I am not Hindu.”

But on a serious note, Happy Diwali, everyone!

asato ma sadgamaya
tamaso ma jyotirgamaya
mrtyorma amrtam gamaya

Lead me from the asat to the sat.
Lead me from darkness to light.
Lead me from death to immortality.

– Brihadaranyaka Upanishad

 

This entry was posted in avatars, Avatars of Vishnu, Ayurveda, current events, Deepavali, Dharmic Faiths, Divine Consciousness, Diwali, faith, family, famous quotes, Hanuman, healing, Hindu Festivals, Hinduism, History, holidays, humor, India, inspiration, Krishna, life, Lord Hanuman, Lord Rama, love, mantras, marriage, meaning of life, Rama, Ramayana, religion, Sanatana Dharma, Sita, spirituality, Trimurti, Upanishads, Vaishnavism, Vedanta, Vedic culture, Vishnu, Western Hinduism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

