Neti, Neti…Yeti?

by Aranyakananda

Having recently realized that I almost never mention Lord Rama on this weblog, I have been reviewing the Ramayana and reading about the different scriptures in which Hanuman, the devotee of Rama, appears. I have always been interested in why Hanuman is depicted as a half-monkey, half-human being. In doing so I came upon an interesting theory online:

Is the illusive some would say mythic “Yeti” a descendant of Hanuman?

Just the other day I was flipping channels on TV when I stopped for just long enough to hear a man say the words “I know why bigfoot’s never been caught. He has the ability to disappear.” I found this so gut-bustingly funny that I immediately went into the other room and reported it to my wife. Now I don’t want to guide this blog in such a way that before you know it we’re talking about UFOs and aliens (which I believe in). All I know is the next day I read the Hanuman/Bigfoot theory. At that point I suddenly found the talk of Bigfoot interesting and even a little less funny.

My take is Lord Rama’s main devotee Hanuman probably was not half-monkey.  Probably, either the story of Hanuman and his semi- anthropomorphic form came from people seeing a Yeti in the Himalayas and coming to the conclusion it was a deity and thereby incorporating this into the Rama story, OR the Yeti is the descendent of Hanuman. If so then hopefully this blog will inspire the “Unsolved Mysteries” crowd to look upon the unexplained in a little more of a spiritual light.

This entry was posted in agnosticism, agnostics, avatars, Avatars of Vishnu, blogging, current events, dharma, God, Hanuman, Hinduism, History, humor, inspiration, Krishna, Lord Hanuman, Lord Rama, Mahabharata, myth, New Age, opinion, panentheism, pantheism, polytheism, Puranas, Rama, religion, sci-fi, science, science fiction, social commentary, Trimurti, Vaishnavism, Vedanta, Vedas, Vishnu and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Neti, Neti…Yeti?

  1. Curious says:

    Greetings.
    Well, what caught my attention as I looked at your post, was the word ‘reviewing’. Didn’t seem correct in the context, but we can have different ways of interpreting it

    Interesting post, though. One difficulty with such ancient history of this kind is that much has been lost over the years especially the years when Hinduism faced the brunt of religion based invasions in India, and the curious minded are often left grappling with many questions.

    Thanks for posting

  2. Dhrishti says:

    When I read this a few days ago, it made me smile. It’s kind of novel, but still quite thought-provoking. I know factly that my brothers and father would love this -if they had any idea what the Ramayana is.

    I’m wondering about Curious’ comment where your use of “reviewing” seemed ill-fitted. It didn’t seem that way to me… ???

    • treadmarkz says:

      Thanks Bhai, I thought about “reviewing” too and at first I thought how you do, but I was thinking that maybe a scripture such as the Ramayana requires more than a “review”, maybe it requires a more thoughtful re-read. I dont know. that is how I took it

    • treadmarkz says:

      Thanks Bhai, I thought about “reviewing” too and at first I thought how you do, but I was thinking that maybe a scripture such as the Ramayana requires more than a “review”, maybe it requires a more thoughtful re-read. I dont know. that is how I took it

    • treadmarkz says:

      hehe yes, this IS definitely a novelty piece, but not without an element of truth no doubt. Its the most campy piece I have written, for sure

  3. Curious says:

    //maybe a scripture such as the Ramayana //

    Yes, friends. In entirely my own humble opinion (which could be wrong) reviewing didn’t seem correct. Usually we review movies, music albums, electronic devices. I place Ramayana a little higher than those. Does not mean I understand it 120%, but respect it immensely for many reasons.

Leave a Reply

