My Temple’s Newsletter Is Coming Back, So I’ve Heard

by Aranyakananda

The long-awaited news arrived to my ears last night that my Temple is bringing back its monthly newsletter, after an extended silence. It has been close to two years since it went on hiatus. I am happy because it gives me a chance to learn more about the various cultures and regions of India, each with their own unique festivals, but all equally Hindu, that the Temple members come from.  But also I hope it will give me a chance to do some carefully considered writing about my own experiences.

I wrote for the newsletter when I first began attending the Temple. It ended up being a sort of introduction, a hello, nice to meet you, this is my dharma and this is why, kind of thing. Very interesting to few, I am sure. 🙂

Through weekly Bhagavad-gita satsang, through the people I have come to know because of this very weblog, and as a result of the time that has passed and my own personal growth, I have learned much since my early submissions to the newsletter. I hope to be able to contribute something to the community that I find myself becoming, but slowly, more and more a part of as the years go by.

Gita discussion has truly been an awakening experience, a very open, pluralist atmosphere for participants to express their own unique views on “Krishna’s Council During Time of War” as one of my Gitas is subtitled. The newsletter is a similarly open forum except that the topics go well beyond religion/philosophy to community news, recipes, etc., though contributors do from time to time offer their own unique angle on a given scripture. My own introduction to the publication was a (gutsy, I suppose, at the time) piece about Vishnu as the Ishta-devata.

I wonder, Dear Reader, having read some of what I have had to say, (excluding the most recent few which have been more about personal feeling) what you think would be a good topic to submit an article on in a community Hindu Temple newsletter in middle America?

This entry was posted in Bhagavad-Gita, blogging, Comparitive Religion, creativity, current events, dharma, editorial, Gita, God, Hinduism, inspiration, Krishna, life, News, opinion, philosophy, pluralism, religion, Sanatana Dharma, satsang, social commentary, spirituality, Vaishnavism, Vedanta, Vedas, Vedic culture, Vishnu, Western Hinduism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Temple’s Newsletter Is Coming Back, So I’ve Heard

  1. Dhrishti says:

    Pull one or two things from the Narada Bhakti Sutra.

Leave a Reply

