The “YOLO” Delusion

by Aranyakananda,

Recently in the news I have been seeing the acronym YOLO come up often. It stands for “You Only Live Once.” Just today I read the news of an up-and-coming rapper Ervin McKinness who, after Tweeting “YOLO” died driving 120 miles per hour, while intoxicated.

People of Abrahamic faiths will say my “assumption” that this is not the only lifetime I will have is mortally dangerous. I say doing as you please as “You only live once, you know!” is much more dangerous.

As a believer in reincarnation, I do not do as I please, comforted in the knowledge that I can do it all over again, though I do appreciate the gift. However I also like to live as though this were my one chance, renouncing the gift. Because being born into this world again, anew, with little understanding, leads to repetitions of pains and frustrations that I know I can avoid if I do live this life as though it were my only chance. This life, right now, is a chance to overcome the material world.

You are only your current personality and body once, so in that respect “you” only live once. And this one life comes with a specific set of tendencies to overcome. YOLOists tend to lean toward giving in to said tendencies, because…well, because “Why not?, that’s why!” YOLOists (and I am not referring to Abrahamic believers in general, I’d like to make that clear) tend to see this one life as a chance to see everything and enjoy every pleasure there is to take in. Sure, you get this pleasure-seeking out of the way, and there can be some spiritual value to that.

But “YOLO” also carries with it the distinct danger of attachment. And it may also lead some to seeking out cheap thrills which lead to dire consequences, as we saw with the young rapper who I referred to above.

This entry was posted in agnosticism, agnostics, atheism, Bhagavad-Gita, Brahman, Comparitive Religion, current events, dharma, Divine Consciousness, Gita, God, gratitude, Hinduism, inspiration, Judaism, karma, Krishna, life, meaning of life, meditation, New Testament, non-dualism, Old Testament, opinion, philosophy, reincarnation, religion, Sanatana Dharma, self-realization, social commentary, spirituality, Vedanta, Vedas, Vishnu and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The “YOLO” Delusion

  1. Dhrishti says:

    So much wisdom in this post! (…and written in your typical, succinct yet personable manner) I agree with so much in this post. 🙂 Good job, bhai!

  2. treadmarkz says:

    I thought it might be pompous, self-righteous drivel, No? Okay!

Leave a Reply

