I Agree With the Dalai Lama About Going Beyond Religion. Kind of.

by Aranyakananda

I’ll have to see where this post takes me before I title it. I am not sure what my stance is on the Dalai Lama recently stating that it is time for humanity to let go of, or go beyond religion. Usually in writing things out, I find my truth. S0 here goes.
       For the most part I think that what the Dalai Lama was taling about is very much in line with what Sri Krishna said in the Bhagavad-Gita when he said basically that the Ultimate was to go beyond even the Vedas, and therefore religion. (Curse me for not being able to cite specific verses in my chosen sacred text!) It is one of the key things that makes Hinduism, in this case refered to as Sanatana Dharma (the eternal religion) so universal.

       The problem is that not all of us are at that point and it is not time for everyone to drop their own chosen path. But I think the Dalai Lama was correct in that we have reached a point in overall spiritual evolution as a species where we will see a general shift toward shedding of the scriptures that are held dear to all religions of the world. Many will see this as a travesty. But even the attachment to the chosen sacred books themselves keeps one tied down to this material world. Attachment to sacred ceremony can be just as harmful. But for some, such ceremony is required for the development of the Self in it’s current form.
           I would recommend maintaining your daily routine of reading your sacred scripture of choice and performing daily ablutions, etc., if you feel that is best. But know that the first step in moving beyond is to put the sacred words into action. Jnana Yoga (wisdom) leads to Karma Yoga (action) and we make that action an expression of Bhakti (devotion). It will be a natural process, I think, and I don’t think that the Dalai Lama’s words were necessarily a call for any specific change in our behaviors. Just perceptions.
            We’ve already long ago begun the process. It was called Humanism, and it developed centuries ago. Though it was more of a form of wisdom than devotion, I think the advent of Humanism was the first step in a spiritual evolution which will one day lead us to a natural devotion which we will live through our understanding, and our actions which come from said understanding. 

           So, yes, I think I agree with the Dalai Lama.

This entry was posted in Bhagavad-Gita, Bible, Brahman, Buddhism, Catholicism, Christian, Comparitive Religion, current events, Dalai Lama, dharma, Divine Consciousness, Gita, God, Hinduism, History, Humanism, idolatry, inspiration, Ishvara, ISKCON, Jesus, Judaism, karma, karma yoga, Krishna, life, meaning of life, meditation, monotheism, New Age, New Testament, New Thought, News, non-dualism, Old Testament, opinion, pantheism, philosophy, polytheism, reincarnation, religion, Sanatana Dharma, self help, self-realization, Self-Realization Fellowship, Sikhism, social commentary, spirituality, Vaishnavism, Vedanta, Vedas, Vishnu, yoga and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Agree With the Dalai Lama About Going Beyond Religion. Kind of.

  1. Thomas says:

    I don’t know how familiar you are with John Lennon, but he was way ahead of the curve when he told us to “Imagine no religion”. There’s no real need to deeply ponder scripture as the answer to every question is love.

    • treadmarkz says:

      Thanks Thomas, I am definitely a fan of Lennon’s though I honestly did not even think of his work while writing this over my lunch break. Though I do consider him a sage of sorts. Though I appreciate the sentiment, I think it is a bit simplified to say that the answer to every question is love. Rebuttal?

  2. Thomas says:

    It’s great that you can exhibit such creativity over your lunch break. Most people use the time to surf the web.

    While there is plenty of value to be found in studying thousands of pages of scripture, loving your neighbor as yourself, doing unto others as you would have it done; it’s hard to go wrong living that way.

  3. Dhrishti says:

    I agree that sooner, rather than later, “scriptures” will be shed. I think in their place, though, their essence will remain in the daily life of our species. Typically, scripture is filled with as much cultural inclination as actual Truth…as our planet grows smaller and cultures blur, scriptures will likely necessarily disappear as far as their current form being preached to the masses. I think individual dharmas will replace sects and change will happen painfully slowly AND overnight.

    Om Shanti!

  4. treadmarkz says:

    Painfully slowly AND overnight? Tell me more about this. Aside from that, I think this is definitely happening. As much as one might subscribe to “Catholicism” lets take as an example completely at random, how many really care what the Pope says? They have their own personal dharma which is okay to have no matter what the Leaders say. Scare tactics will no longer work as people become more in touch with the line that connects them to the Oneness.

  5. Dhrishti says:

    Once, in a high school language arts class, i wrote a poem about the concept of time and referred to it in some way similar to, “flying by one second at a time…” The teacher kept the poem to show to future students because of that line and others in the poem which struck her in some way or another.

    That’s kind of what I mean by “overnight” (aka soon, or before we even know it) and “painfully slowly. I foresee that, little-by-little, everything’s going to change all at once -in the same way that time both drags by one second at a time, and still speeds past us so fast we wonder where it went.

Leave a Reply

