“I”-ness In the Blogosphere.

by Aranyakananda

I am a blogger. Being that you are reading this, you already know that. My blog is about my spiritual journey whether it be reflections on my past, meditations, dharma in media, dharma in history, etcetera ad infinitum. But a lot of times I just write about things that happen in my daily life.

In the above paragraph the word “I” was used twice. The word “my” was used four times. The point is, the purpose of this blog is not to write about Hinduism in a textbook kind of way. The transcendence of the concept of I, me and mine is a main tenet of Hinduism in all forms. It is the whole point of the Bhagavad-gita. But one has to relate to the society in which he is born into. One can’t go around saying “This body” when they mean “I” in every day conversation. Such a person would not be able to offer anything if his listener were always looking at him as if he were speaking in tongues.

I have seen reviews of blogs written by American Hindu bloggers which point out that “he rarely talks about himself.” Surely such blogs can be very informative, inspiring, and even entertaining. But I say there is a difference between talking about oneself and being a blowhard. It is a fine line, depending on one’s own temperament, but I think writing about one’s own experiences is the easiest way to achieve universality. It is the easiest way to really connect with your world. I am a writer and I will not withdraw.

This entry was posted in Bhagavad-Gita, blogging, current events, dharma, Gita, Hinduism, inspiration, life, meditation, philosophy, Sanatana Dharma, self help, self-realization, social commentary, spirituality, Vishnu and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I”-ness In the Blogosphere.

  1. Dhrishti says:

    I think Deepak Chopra said something like all religions start with an experience of the Divine, followed by an effort to help others replicate that experience in their own lives.

    There IS a difference between being a blowhard (whatever that is, we don’t use that term here in Indiana), and simply sharing. Personally, and going on assumption, I think a blowhard would likely try to make others hear what he has to share. A simple blogger has to be visited by those… none can be forced to read another’s bloggering.

    I also recommend that you do not withdraw.

Leave a Reply

