My Reaction to the Bhagavad-Gita is “Obviously…”

by Aranyakananda

           I was reading my current preferred commentary on the Bhagavad-Gita recently, sitting alone kind of speaking the words out loud as I went along. the scripture itself to me seems without fail in reason. But it was the commentary which got me. Occasionally I would come to a passage which really rang true to me and I would mumble to myself “well, obviously…”
            Continuing on, I again would come to another equally true statement, and again would utter the word “Obviously.”
            On into the next chapter, I would find Sri Krishna building on something from the previous chapter which rang true, and the commentator’s “if/then’s” were all in line, and so again, I had no choice but to agree. “Obviously” I would say, but loud and strong this time.

        Now if this were a scientific journal, and everything you read was obvious, it would be very ho-hum and let’s see what’s on TV. It would not be good reading and would not be good science. But I have found that when a Gita commentary can make you say “Obviously” it verifies the best feature of dharmic faith: that it is very often rational, and rational because it is experientially true. If we’ve meditated and considered the world through dharmic eyes, we understand these truths and don’t have to be convinced and don’t have to believe for the sake of believing. We know.

This entry was posted in avatars, Avatars of Vishnu, Bhagavad-Gita, book review, books, Comparitive Religion, dharma, Divine Consciousness, Gita, God, guru, Hinduism, inspiration, Krishna, Mahabharata, meaning of life, non-dualism, pantheism, philosophy, Prabhupada, Sanatana Dharma, Vaishnavism, Vishnu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Reaction to the Bhagavad-Gita is “Obviously…”

  1. Dhrishti says:

    Bhai,

    This “best” feature of the Dharmic Faiths is definitely something I agree with you on, and I think this trait is foundational. As you have said, the “beliefs” are rational because they are simultaneously experiential.

    My vocab might be off, but I think the Sanksrit word for faith is something like shraddha…a word in which the concept of action is inherent. This is often interpreted to mean that one’s faith moves that person to right and dharmic action, but the other side of that same coin shows that these very actions lead to the experiential evidence of our faith.

    Nice post!

    Om Shanti

Leave a Reply

