Hindu Temple?…There Must Be Muslims In There!

by Aranyakananda

The story about the six people who were killed today at the Sikh Temple near Milwaukee (7 including the shooter) has got me very concerned about…well where do I start? Okay here’s what bothers me. The news reports seem to be suggesting that the shooter was targeting a Muslim mosque but was misinformed and thought that the Sikh Temple was in fact a mosque.
It would be a horror for the world regardless of whether the shooter reached his intended target or not. Let me make that clear. But to think that we humans are capable of hate on such a misguided level is staggering. At my local Hindu (Sikhism broke from Hinduism about 500 years ago) temple I once saw a car drive by and a young male shouted out the window some anti-Arab slur, which…I don’t even know what to say about that. If someone could see a Sikh temple and think that it was a mosque and carry out what this person carried out today, I have no doubt that someone has the mental (lack of) capacity to think “Hindu Temple? There must be Muslims in there!”
There is so much misguided hate, I don’t even know what to say about it. I am at a loss and yet I try. People don’t think. They just hate. Not that well-thought-out hate is any better. Mein Kampf by Adolf Hitler is considered to lucid piece of writing at least, but look how that ended up. I am trying not to get angry and I have already made the effort to keep in mind that, as with the Colorado movie theater shooting, if I am going to pray for the victims I must also pray for the shooter. I have to. He was just as much of a lost soul as anyone and therefore if the victims needed prayers, he surely did.

I don’t even want to get into the issue of whether this was mental illness, a hate crime or an act of terrorism. I don’t really care anymore. All I know it is hate. We are probably always going to have hate, and we are probably always going to have violence And the Bhagavad-Gita shows us that violence can be used toward a righteous end. It is possible if we are in the right state of being. But I don’t believe that hate ever mixes with violence to achieve a righteous end. Hate always involves the ego, or some nationalistic angle or some kind of pride. Hate and violence are literally a deadly combination, as we saw today in Wisconsin.

I have never been more convinced that we are, indeed, in the Kali Yuga. I pray for the world. All this over six (7) people? some may ask. Yes. I will never get used to this no matter how often it is getting to be happening. And it will never…ever…be okay. We have to demand better of our species. I, for one, insist upon it.

This entry was posted in Bhagavad-Gita, Comparitive Religion, crime, current events, Divine Consciousness, Gita, God, Hinduism, life, News, philosophy, Sanatana Dharma, Sikh Temple, Sikhism, social commentary, television and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hindu Temple?…There Must Be Muslims In There!

  1. Dhrishti says:

    Bhai,

    I couldn’t agree more. Whether it’s misguided or misdirected, or both, the hate/violence combo is no good. Ever. A pandit who once gave a discourse at my temple spoke on violence and ahimsa and the Gita. As you mention here, ego(ahankar?) makes all the difference.

    I think an unfortunate factor at play in this instance, is a specific similarity in the outward appearance of many Sikhs/Muslims: the turban. For this reason, I think it’s a bit less likely that a Hindu Temple would accidentally be fired upon with Muslims as a target.

    Regardless, I definitely find things like this to be indicative of the Kali Yuga. The “Good News” from the Hindu perspective is that, time being cyclical, we’ll soon enough pass through the Kali Yuga and into a better time for all.

    Om Shanti

  2. treadmarkz says:

    Usually you would be correct that a Hindu temple would be less apt to be targeted thusly. In this case, the Sikh community in my town often comes to the Hindu temple. I don’t know that there is a Sikh Temple here. For many pujas I have seen Sikhs come to worship at the Hindu temple. It will really help to ease some of the community’s pain, and also help me to deal with all this frustration as we are having a puja for interfaith peace and understanding on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

