When Even a False Guru Reveals Truth, How Can You Dismiss Anything Completely?

by Aranyakananda

Back in the Spring, before I was writing this blog, I read about a film made about a “false guru” calling himself Kumare. He made the film to see what people would buy into. I was appalled when I heard about it. That he was purposely misleading his “followers”. But the idea behind the film, I understand, was to show people that they needn’t follow anyone. The truth is in all of us. You know, all that. It is not a new concept. I can’t say I really disagree with it. Every true seeker has a guru who will find him when he is ready. But I don’t know that he needs necessarily surrender to said guru. The guru comes to him to offer a way to enlightenment. But it is just a way, a path which the seeker must then choose to take himself. He must surrender to that path, yes, but he has the light inside himself. The guru comes to turn that light on. So in a way, Kumare, in revealing himself as a “fraud”, in insisting he was no guru, was really offering a revelation that he did not expect to. This just goes to further my earlier claim that Gurus are everywhere.

This entry was posted in Bhagavad-Gita, current events, dharma, Divine Consciousness, film, God, guru, Hinduism, independent film, inspiration, life, meaning of life, meditation, New Thought, News, philosophy, Sanatana Dharma, self help, Shaivism, Shiva, yoga and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When Even a False Guru Reveals Truth, How Can You Dismiss Anything Completely?

  1. Dhrishti says:

    Well said, bhai. I always appreciate how short and to-the-point your posts usually are.

    “Every true seeker has a guru who will find him when he is ready. But I don’t know that he needs necessarily surrender to said guru. The guru comes to him to offer a way to enlightenment. But it is just a way, a path which the seeker must then choose to take himself.” – This is superb. As you’ve seen over on my own page, I’ve yet to “surrender” to any one guru, although there is one I lean far more heavily on than the others. What’s comforting to me, in this moment, is that you just said what She always says.

    Om Shanti

    • treadmarkz says:

      Haha, “usually” I keep it short. Unless I am really fired up. Glad to see I could reinforce for you what your own Hugging Saint has said.

Leave a Reply

