Lessons From This Year’s Gurupurnima

by Aranyakananda

I got to have a darshan with Swami Vidyadhishananda with several members of my Temple by video live feed on Tuesday. We had some technical difficulties but his truth came through, regardless. We got what we needed out of it. So I’ll make this brief. I have heard talk that Swami Vidyadhishananda will construct and deliver his message in such a way that it will be received by all listening according to their needs. I find this to be true. I have written in a recent post about a recent meditation on my convictions toward self-betterment in my 33rd year. That same day I got the invitation to hear the talk given by Swami-ji.
During the talk, in passing, Swami-ji made a comment about self-improvement, conviction and strength to carry out these improvements, etc.  Honestly I can’t even tell you exactly what he said but it doesn’t matter to me. Hearing him say that showed me that it was by his own personal invitation that I had come there. The rest of the talk was about guru-disciple relationship, and teachings of Patanjali which let themselves into my consciousness and I know they have made a home there. It was not intellectualized. It was not “remembered”, but it will always be there.

Swami’s talk about Patanjali involved five concepts, who of which were Shruti and Vidya. Memory and Wisdom. Swami talked about the memory referred to by the word “shruti” is not of memorizing facts, but always being able to call to mind That which we are in our very essence. By Vidya, he again described the higher type of wisdom and knowledge. This are but two steps toward greater realization.
Swami V described how it is not necessary to have reverence as long as there is love. To illustrate this point, Swami described how a child doesn’t care if his father is the President or something else, he will love his father just the same no matter what. Love. Not reverence. The child will love his father just because he is his father. We love our guru just for the sake of love. Not because the guru is higher or greater or better.

That is one of the things that is all-attractive about Swami Vidyadhishananda, and many other spiritual teachers of Dharma. He is not asking for reverence. He doesn’t even ask for love. By his presence he evokes a love that we did not know was there.

 

This entry was posted in Brahman, current events, dharma, Divine Consciousness, God, guru, Gurupurnima, holidays, inspiration, love, meditation, News, Patanjali, philosophy, Sanatana Dharma, self help, Swami V, Swami Vidyadhishananda, Vishnu, yoga, Yoga Sutras and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lessons From This Year’s Gurupurnima

  1. Dhrishti says:

    Patanjali and his Yoga Sutras have been instrumental in my own life. I’m glad your Swami spoke on them!

    Sri gurubhyo namah!

  2. treadmarkz says:

    I’ll look into the Sutras more. And I realized today when I was re-reading a piece of literature I picked up from a friend on Gurupurnima that the comment about following through on resolutions was not from his talk, but from the pamphlet. His words come through so vividly, spoken or in writing, that I sometimes cannot tell the difference. 🙂

Leave a Reply

