Pujas at Home

by Aranyakananda

I have a shrine to Vishnu/Krishna/Guru at home. Recently a friend of mine asked me about performing pujas, but I said that I really would not say that I do any. I think the reason was that I was a little insecure about my knowledge. Certainly I did not follow the Hindi, Bengali, or Tamil that was being spoken by the priest during pujas at my local Temple. I often felt like I was treading on ground more sacred than I was entitled to, for some reason, not being a Brahmin, and not knowing the sacred words of a “true puja.”

But my friend, knowing that I at least have an understanding of the purpose of a puja, encouraged me to do them at home if I felt like it, no matter how complex or simple my form of puja is. And I have done so more often. It is a good thing for many reasons. But I have found that, especially, in partaking of the prasad afterwards, I am not just mindful of consuming what has first been offered to the Lord, but it becomes for me a continuation of all of the experiences and notions that traversed my consciousness during meditation. Meditators know that it is a different state of mind once you “snap out of it”. I have written before about my frustration with how meditation at night leads to strong convictions that don’t necessarily carry through to the next day. But partaking of the prasad afterward is a way of extending my mindfulness, bridging that gap that tends to present itself when I say my closing “Aummmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.”

Aum, Shanti.

This entry was posted in Avatars of Vishnu, Brahman, current events, Divine Consciousness, God, guru, Hinduism, inspiration, Krishna, life, meditation, philosophy, Sanatana Dharma, Swami V, Swami Vidyadhishananda, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, yoga, Yogananda and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pujas at Home

  1. Dhrishti says:

    Losing our insecurities can be an exercise in fearlessness, which can strengthen our bhakti, among other things.

    Learn a little more about pujas and you’ll see how they run the gamut from simple to ornate to down right painfully complex. Ishwar/Bhagavan is the author of all of man’s tongues. You needn’t know Tamil or Bengali. 🙂

    I can point you toward a few encouraging resources, if you’d like.

Leave a Reply

