Removal of Barriers and Writer’s Block?

by Aranyakananda

I have chosen the image of Ganesha for my front entrance, and as fortune would have it, it turns out to be an image of Ganesha writing in a book. This is a beautiful piece of synchronicity as I came to realize over the last year that I am to be, through Divine Wisdom, Creativity (Saraswati) to be the maker of my own path, rather than letting life happen to me. I am to be undisturbed by life as it does turn out, but I am to play an active role in creating that path. I have come to understand that writing is my gift, and I am to try to use it. For several years I stopped believing that. But it just may be my primary dharma. Ganesha is said to be the patron saint of writers by some.
So the image of Ganesha at my front door will be to remind me not only to remove all barriers that block me from understanding, but hey, maybe, just maybe, the Lord as Ganesha will help me with writer’s block?

This entry was posted in books, Brahman, creativity, current events, dharma, Divine Consciousness, Ganesh, God, Hinduism, inspiration, life, meaning of life, meditation, myth, non-dualism, philosophy, Sanatana Dharma, self help, Shaivism, Shiva, Vaishnavism, Vishnu and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Removal of Barriers and Writer’s Block?

  1. Dhrishti says:

    I think the “book” Ganapati is writing in is part of itihasa, known as Mahabharata (the other part of itihasa is Ramayana). Ganesha and Sage Vyasa had an agreement that Vyasa would recite, without pause, and Ganesha would write/understand equally fast. At some point Ganapati’s pen broke or something, so he broke off His own tusk and began writing with that without missing a single syllable of Vyasa’s recitation.

    Om Gan Mahaganapataye Namaha!

    • treadmarkz says:

      Thank you Dhrishti, I appreciate you adding background and context. I am not always fully knowledgeable on what some would consider the “mythology” behind it all, but that certainly is well beyond just a book.

    • treadmarkz says:

      Of course there is also the interpretation which probably comes from a Vaishnava background wherein Parasurama threw his ax and it hit Ganesha’s tusk, breaking it off.

      • Dhrishti says:

        Interesting! I’ve never heard this version relating to Ganesha’s tusk. Can you summarize?

      • treadmarkz says:

        Sure. Parasurama had received his weapon from Shiva. Later he went to visit Shiva, he was denied access by Ganesha. Parasurama got angry and threw his axe at Ganesha. Ganesha recognized the symbol of Shiva on the axe, and so he, knowing it was Shiva’s will, let the axe hit his tusk, breaking it off. Hmm…now that I recount the story, it doesn’t sound too Vaishnava, but if Parasurama is in it, it must be.

      • Dhrishti says:

        Interesting! I’ve never heard this before. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

