On the Subject of Conversion to Hinduism

by Aranyakananda

In December of 2008, I had no intention of converting to another religion. I had merely made a resolution to “read more important books”. Those were my exact words. One of the first ones I picked had to do with meditation, and it led me to “Man’s Eternal Quest” by Paramhansa Yogananda. This, in turn, gave me clarity on many questions of the Divine which I had never had answered. I found Sanatana Dharma, the Eternal Way, to be the path for me.

But along the way, I found that it is not really technically possible to convert to Sanatana Dharma. Not because it is some exclusive club open only to Indians, but because, as A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada said, everyone follows Krishna, some just don’t know it yet.

I could maybe say I converted from Catholicism to Vaishnavaism. But here are a few other ways to describe what I became in December 2008, when I got such an early and fortuitous start on my New Years’ Resolution list:

1. Enlightened – Has connotations of pomposity and presumptuousness when said about oneself, so I try to avoid it.

2. Awake – Whenever someone asked me if I was religious now, I wanted to tell them “no just more awake.”

3. A yogi – Anyone who meditates can call oneself a yogi.

4. religious – Oddly enough I did find myself much more “religious” in my practices than ever before.

Jai Hari Aum!

This entry was posted in Bhagavad-Gita, Catholicism, Christian, Comparitive Religion, dharma, God, Hinduism, inspiration, life, meditation, philosophy, Sanatana Dharma, Vaishnavism, Vishnu, yoga, Yogananda and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

